By Mary Motzko | February 19th, 2021 | | 0 Comments

The Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) issued an emergency declaration after a severe winter storm ravaged several parts of the United States, causing fuel shortages. It will be in effect until the end of the emergency, or March 4, 2021.

“By execution of this Emergency Declaration, motor carriers and drivers providing direct assistance to the emergency in the affected states in direct support of relief efforts related to the severe winter storm are granted relief from Parts 390 through 399 of Title 49 Code of Federal Regulations except as restricted herein,” the FMCSA stated.   

The waiver includes Hours of Service requirements.

The emergency declaration provides relief for truck drivers hauling supplies, goods, equipment, heating fuels, propane, natural gas, heating oil and other fuel products. It also includes drivers transporting persons to and from the affected areas or providing other assistance in the form of emergency services during the crisis in the affected states.

According to the FMCSA, the waiver terminates when a driver or commercial motor vehicle is used in interstate commerce to transport goods or provide services that are not in support of the emergency relief efforts related to the storm.

The following states are included in the 33-state emergency:

  • Arkansas
  • Connecticut
  • Delaware
  • District of Columbia
  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Maryland
  • Massachusetts
  • Minnesota
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • Montana
  • Nebraska
  • New Jersey
  • New Mexico
  • New York
  • North Carolina
  • North Dakota
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • Oregon
  • Pennsylvania
  • Rhode Island
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Virginia
  • West Virginia
  • Wisconsin
  • Wyoming

RTA Fleet Management Software provides a complete and robust fleet maintenance solution. Contact us to schedule a free trial or a demo.